Happy Birthday to Us (and my Mom)! All Things Go Turns 2!

happybirthday.jpg

It feels like it’s been forever since my (only) four friends and I sat out to start this here blog in the hopes of educating a small (see: 10 people) readership on the newest and coolest music out there. Well, it hasn’t been forever. It’s been two years, to be exact. Yup, that fateful night of January 22nd, 2006, this little establishment came to be. It was a beautiful birth, and, while we’ve struggled through adolescence recently (lack of posting, now only 2 writers), we are still alive and kicking. This blog originally served as a way for me to express myself musically, and allow others to get a chance to discover new tunes and artists. It has turned into much more, allowing me to meet new people (including some of my favorite artists), hone my journalistic skills, and share my passion for music with you all. There are a couple of people I’d really like to thank here, as, without them, this site would be dead and gone.

First off, I’d like to thank Derek for enlightening me with his music, and educating me on the ins and outs of running a blog along the way. He’s been more than helpful with everything, and, to top it off, he’s been one of my best friends for a while. Sadly, his blog (GWFAS) is still miles cooler than mine.

Secondly, I’d like to thank everyone that has written for this site. It started with Alex, Adrian, Austin, Ryan, and me, and along the way we lost some, added and lost Everett and Nicholas, and, recently, added Ethan. Regardless of how much they have contributed in terms of actual posts, they have helped keep the blog fresh, and give you guys some more perspectives.

I’d like to thank everyone who has donated to keep this site running. Without you, this blog would literally not exist. I still find it a bit crazy that you guys would donate to some random person you’ve never met without being forced to, but nonetheless I appreciate not only the money but also the thought and kindness.

I don’t have enough time or effort to thank everyone, but I’d like to recognize these people for helping make ATG what it is today: Michael (for providing comic relief), Stephen and Andy (for attempting to make a diss blog against Derek and I), Will Cafritz (for keeping me on the cutting edge in terms of new music), Mickey (for introducing me to the newest and hottest remixes), Aaron Berger (for setting up the first ever All Things Go sponsored show), my parents (for reading the blog regularly), Nick Miller and Tim Nazanin (for providing us with Mixtape Monday’s and Nick Miller’s song of the week), and everyone else who I have enjoyed listening to music (or making drunken music) with.

Obviously, I want to thank you guys, the readers, for checking in to the site regularly and for interacting with me through comments and suggestions. Ultimately, this site would be nothing but rambling without readers, and you all are my motivation to keep writing.

Lastly, I’d like to thank my awesome girlfriend Claire. She’s introduced me to countless new songs (including “Silver City”) and has kept me motivated at times when I felt like calling it quits. I love her.

Here’s to two more years of All Things Go. And here’s a few songs to celebrate!

MP3: Ghostface Killah – “We Celebrate (ft. Kid Capri)”
MP3: Andrew Bird – “The Happy Birthday Song”
MP3: Bloc Party – “Two More Years”
MP3: Final Fantasy – “Took You Two Years to Win My Heart”

PS: Happy Birthday to Sara Friendly, my mom.

10 Responses to Happy Birthday to Us (and my Mom)! All Things Go Turns 2!

  1. sooze says:

    UGH IM DEVASTATED

  2. Chris says:

    Happy Birthday to one of my fave blogs.

  3. Lindzy says:

    happy birthday Jack!

  4. raeb says:

    her loves you

  5. Bronwyn says:

    Happy birthday! I remember finding this through GWFS likely around summer ’06 and have been reading ever since. Thanks for making this blog happen. 🙂

  6. Michael says:

    I remember coming here a year or two ago, liked what I saw, bookmarked it and visited regularly. It looked a little different then (maybe it was on blogger? or a self-hosted blog? i’m pretty sure the url was different).

    Then i had no internet access for a few months, had my hard-drive crash, got a new computer…and my bland musical life went on.

    Then I (miraculously) found All Things Go again a few months after I started blogging on wordpress fairly recently. Oh ATG, I will never lose you again. (Okay, I don’t hold the blog THAT close to my heart, but I think it’s a really cool blog and I come here quite often.)

  7. Chris says:

    Seriously, since we are telling stories…

    One day about a year ago, I was cruising the hype machine and came across the Hip-hop mixtape. I DLed it and was hooked. Keep it going for another two years!

  8. Her says:

    Her really appreciated the shout-out.

  9. Congrats!

    Keep up the good work.

    x.

  10. Happy Birthday AllThingGo!!! And thanks for all the great music tips!