Beirut – Black Sessions

beirut.jpg

Beirut recently appeared on the Black Sessions (live broadcasts on French radio station France Inter), and played some of my absolute favorites, including what might just be my favorite song of 2007, “Nantes”. The accordian and accompanyment are stunning, offering a more live-band feel to the song, now giving me two favorite songs of 2007. After reading this interview from 2006 with Beirut’s genius, Zach Condon, I’ve gone back and listened to Gulag Orkestar, which I unfairly ignored when it came out, and it too is lovely. Expect to see The Flying Club Cup near the top of my favorite albums of 2007 list (which is coming very soon, if anyone cares anymore). Anyway, check out “Nantes” from Club Cup and “Postcards from Italy”, originally from Gulag Orkestar.

MP3: Beirut – “Nantes (Live @ Black Sessions)”
MP3: Beirut – “Postcards From Italy (Live @ Black Sessions)”

Alternate links and video footage of Beirut’s performance on Black Sessions after the jump

MP3: Beirut – “Nantes (Live @ Black Sessions)” [sendspace]
MP3: Beirut – “Postcards From Italy (Live @ Black Sessions)” [sendspace]

2 Responses to Beirut – Black Sessions

  1. daddyo says:

    I believe that I hold the copywrite for “lovely”

  2. Michael says:

    yeah, dude…that best of 2007 list delay is getting kind of long.