In Regards to My Paper, Now They Guessin’ My Weight

Anyone who knows me is aware of the face that i am a complete nork (nerd+dork). I can tell you Cal Ripken Jr.’s on-base percentage and RBI total in 1991 (.374 and 114, if you’re wondering). I played eight seasons of Dynasty mode in NCAA Football 2009 (EIGHT! 8!). I have played every single Final Fantasy game dating back to FF3 on my Super Nintendo. You get the picture.

So imagine my excitement when I stumbled across Team Teamwork a few months back. The RPG-mashup artist who has created the nork’s wet dream; mixtapes splicing legendary video game music with hip hop bangers from the past few years. The last two mixtapes have featured songs from two of the most popular video games of all time; Final Fantasy VII and The Legend of Zelda: The Ocarina of Time. The aptly titled Vinyl Fantasy VII and The Ocarina of Rhyme (respectively) are shamelessly entertaining, simultaneously balancing the nork’s (or derd’s) desire to feel cool (the hip hop) and love for nerdy RPG jams (the music from Hyrule Market, eg.). Check out “Virginia (Lost Woods)” from Ocarina of Rhyme and “Ante Up (Battle!),” both of which feature the most recognizable songs from both games and credible artists (Clipse and M.O.P.).

MP3: Team Teamwork – “Clipse – Virginia (Lost Woods)”
MP3: Team Teamwork – “M.O.P. – Ante Up (Battle!)”

If you like what you heard, grab the full mixtapes over at Team Teamwork’s website.

Love,
Zack

5 Responses to In Regards to My Paper, Now They Guessin’ My Weight

  1. Adrian says:

    I didn’t know you were a Final Fantasy nerd. Why haven’t we discussed this?

  2. Frodo's Slipper says:

    I too am a nork! We must summon our brethren to fight together and achieve a most noble society which begets only more norks! Thy feels as if thign eyes are tingling with excitement!!!!!!!

  3. chrisrowe says:

    daymaker!

  4. […] if I could get any nerdier (see: Team Teamwork’s Ocarina of Rhyme post), I recently got an e-mail from a man by the name of Alex Kresovich (who apparently lists Team […]