All Things Go Dance Mixtape

atg-dance-front.jpg

Finally, a dance mix. I completed this mixtape over 2 months ago, yet for some reason (see: laziness) I’ve yet to post it. As usual, you can download the whole .zip below or download each song individually. In the words of the great Keenan & Kel, awwwwww here goes:

atg-dance-back.jpg

DOWNLOAD: All Things Go Dance Mixtape [follow link]

MP3: 1. Teddybears – “Cobrastyle”
I realized that this song was thoroughly overplayed when I heard it in the preview for Epic Movie, and when I heard my roommate listening to it (NOTE: his favorite bands are Nickelback, 3 Doors Down, and Godsmack. Kill me). I still hold my claim that I found this song first, hearing it on the FIFA 2006 soundtrack (which came out in 2005, so there). Regardless of it’s over-usage, it’s still a catchy song with an unbearably infectious hook and simple vocals, and was the first song I put in the playlist for this mix.

MP3: 2. Daft Punk – “Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger”
How can you make a dance mix without a little Daft Punk? This song is perfect for a dance party or a workout mix, but either way it gets you pumped.

MP3: 3. Head Automatica – “Beating Heart Baby”
This song really doesn’t fit my musical tastes, which makes it difficult to explain why I love it so much. Maybe it’s the catchy-as-shit singalong vocals or the cheesy chorus, or maybe it’s just that the song, as a whole, is just plain fun. I picked up this song from Derek’s M3 Dance Dance mix, and have been bangin’ it ever since.

MP3: 4. Bloc Party – “Helicopter (Allen Breakneck Mix)”
The original of this song might be more fitting for a dance mixtape, but I figured everyone has heard it before, so I went with the slightly less-known remix, off of Silent Alarm Remixed. Allen contributes two versions of “Helicopter” to Bloc Party’s remix album, but the Breakneck Mix does a much better job of keeping the upbeat feel of the original.

MP3: 5. The Rapture – “Whoo! Alright – Yeah…Uh Huh (WAYUH)”
I wrote about this song a while back, and it’s still on heavy rotation in my car. One of former ATG writer Austin’s favorite bands tore their way through the indie music scene with their latest effort, Pieces of the People We Love. “WAYUH” is the highlight track, and perfectly captures The Rapture’s goofy, carefree vibe.

MP3: 6. Franz Ferdinand – “Do You Want To”
In my opinion, dance-rock kings Franz Ferdinand fell off a little bit with their second release, You Could Have it So Much Better, but there were a few gems on the album nonetheless. My favorite song off the album happened to be the radio-ready and commercially popularized “Do You Want To”. Though this is probably the most “mainstream” song on this album, that takes nothing away from the dance-able-ness of it.

MP3: 7. Hot Hot Heat – “Talk to Me, Dance with Me”
Another group that seems to just pump out dance hits. This song was actually on their 2002 debut album, Make Up the Breakdown. Any song with cowbell is alright by me, plus it has the word dance in the song title. A perfect fit for a dance mix.

MP3: 8. Diplo vs. The Beatles – “Shhake it Up”
This was a late addition to the mixtape, but definitely deserves a spot. Renowned DJ/remix-artist/mashup-maker Diplo takes a classic song from the 60’s and, dare I say, makes it even more dance-able. I will admit that this song is muuuuuch more fun to dance to while completely and totally innebriated.

MP3: 9. Graham Coxon – “Standing on My Own Again
Another member of Blur making a side project that’s better than Blur? Graham Coxon continues the trend started by Damon Albarn and Gorillaz by releasing another solo album, Love Travels at Illegal Speeds, which deserved more acclaim and attention than it received (though it did hit #24 on the UK charts back in March and received a 7.0 from P-fork). This is one of former ATG writer Ryan and my lovely ladyfriend Claire’s favorite artists.

MP3: 10. Mylo – “Drop the Pressure”
I’ve heard around 20 different versions of the song, and can’t seem to find which one is the authentic, original version. I went with this version because it’s the most rhythmic, and features synthy vocals and bouncy bassline that keep the song rolling. Regrettably, I haven’t listened to anything else by Mylo except for this song, so he conceivably could’ve made an even more fitting song, but I think “Drop the Pressure” is just right for this mixtape.

MP3: 11. Justice vs. Simian – “Never Be Alone”
Awh Yeah. I give Derek 2000% of the credit for discovering this absolute gem of a song. Since I can’t even put into words how much I love this song, ill defer to Derek on this one:
“The fact of the matter is, this is easily the most well-received song I’ve ever played for anyone – from indie kids, to preppy douchebags, even to people who don’t give a fuck about music at all – no one’s ever not wanted to hear it again and again. Then there’s the small issue that there many never have been a better party song. Ever. Seriously, there’s pretty much nothing more enjoyable than screaming out this chorus with your closest friends in drunken, sweaty unison.”
Pretty much.

MP3: 12. Girl Talk – “Bounce That”
I’ve written about Girl Talk before, so I’m not going to re-tell how much I love Gregg Gillis. I’m just going to tell you to listen to “Bounce That”. And I’m going to tell you that Girl Talk mixed NMH’s “Holland 1945” with Juelz Santana’s “There it Go (The Whistle Song)” seamlessy. If you really want a dance mix, just put on Night Ripper and shake accordingly.

MP3: 13. Modest Mouse – “Dashboard”
The first single off of the indie/mainstream gods’ latest release, We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank, is entirely too catchy for it’s own good. So catchy, in fact, that it’s taken over the radio. I know there will be doubters out there that will say “man, Modest Mouse sold out” or “this is nowhere near as good as their old stuff”, but seriously, try to listen to this song and sit still.

MP3: 14. LCD Soundsystem – “Daft Punk is Playing at My House”
The only thing better than listening to Daft Punk is having Daft Punk playing at your house, your house. LCD Soundsystem creates a doozy of a dance hit with their ode to everyone’s favorite electronikings (new word). Just when you thought this song couldn’t get any cooler, they have to go and make an awesome stop-action music video that perfectly fits the song’s mood.

MP3: 15. Eric Prydz – “Call on Me”
Call on meeeeee, Call on me. Check the video. ‘Nuff said.

MP3: BONUS: LCD Soundsystem – “Tribulations (Shallow Version)”
Ok, it’s not really a bonus. I just wanted an even 15 songs on the mix, but couldn’t possibly cut this song from the mix. LCD makes a return appearance to deliver a more stripped down version of their other incredibly awesome dance anthem, which still maintains the incredible awesomeness.

I hope you enjoyed the ATG Dance Mixtape. As always, you can print out the artwork and give this mix to a friend and pretend you made it. Just make sure you shake what your mother gave you.

Love,
Zack

29 Responses to All Things Go Dance Mixtape

  1. Laura says:

    it’s only dance remixes where it’s okay to listen samplings of ciara and britney spears. i like.

  2. jayne says:

    yesh!!
    thanks Zack..
    *gyrates to the groovy grooves*

  3. Mike L NYC says:

    LOVE “Never Be Alone”

    Been sharing it with everyone I know, lately. Ditto on Derek’s comments.

    Thanks

  4. […] All Things Go Dance Mixtape [image] Finally, a dance mix. I completed this mixtape over 2 months ago, yet for some reason (see: laziness) I’ve […] […]

  5. Michael says:

    Hmm.. is this a nice dance album?

    i like alternative though :D… gooday!

  6. i like the album! i might as well share this to my friends. ^^

  7. […] 27, 2007 Filed under: Diary-ish, Music — kthx @ 3:22 pm All Things Go Dance Mixtape reminded me of the brilliant “Daft Punk is playing at my House” by LCD Soundsystems. I […]

  8. Fred says:

    shoot! this is good stuff. why haven’t i heard of this site earlier?

  9. luke says:

    Thank you for finally putting the track numbers on! Continue to love the mix tapes.

    -Luke

  10. chrisrowe says:

    nasty bo basty – keep up the good work. Great jams for room parties

  11. Sergei says:

    Um, you do realize that half these songs have been on Fifa soundtacks before, not just Cobrastyle. The album is ok, but its not really original

  12. allthingsgo says:

    i know “daft punk is playing at my house” and the regular version of “helicopter” were, but i dont know if others were. And im sorry you dont find it original, but my aim wasnt indie-pretentiousness. It was a dance party.

  13. barely sober bear says:

    yeah shut up sergei!

  14. charlie says:

    thanks a bunch zack. i have been looking for some high energy jams recently. i am hoping this will feed my apetite. keep the good stuff coming man.

  15. Derek says:

    That “Helicopter” mix is an unofficial remix; it wasn’t on Silent Alarm: Remixed. PWN’D!

  16. Nestor says:

    Hey, read the stuff…. good freaggin job kids…

    u knoe, i read a lot of blogs and for the first time i found one thats not pretentious… u guys have got good taste in music.

    i dj’d the scene as well as worked withe the so called *preppy douchebags* and recently i quit the indie scene cause, man… those kids are something else… then i started putting ideas together with the best promoters in my town and voila… we started a night where i’ve been pushing the sorts of chromeo, hot hot heat, daft punk, lcd ss, girl talk, justice, weird science, mstrkrft, winterkids and many other pop/hip hop/french producer rmxs

    now i got all the kids listening and dancing to this instead of gangsta/ghetto faboulous/mtv rap (no pun intended, i mean, just got a cadillac throw some ds on that bitch, is da shit… but enough is enough). i feel so good that these kids are enjoying songs like the ones u put on that zip… im so sick of the whole indie attitude, they love this shit and i thnk they feel its cool to pretend and say *come on man, no one listens to ima robot anymore* and then i put on dynomite and the dance floor explodes…

    anyways… enough rambling… so u guys r from dc… do you ever make it out to those TEASE parties? wondering if you guys have like a nite or something that ur djing at or anything of the likes…

    i live in a florida but i got to baltimore, dc and virginia a lot…. last time i was in baltimore i couldnt find any indie places to see whats going on in that area..

    go to my myspace i have a couple of old mashups that i think are good….

  17. ekko says:

    Love that Hot Hot Heat tune. And the new Modeset Mouse.

  18. donjuan says:

    where’s that Rx Bandits interview?

  19. melissa says:

    love the new mixtape! 🙂 so much fun. on another note, did you guys go to the cold war kids show in dc last week? what did you think?

  20. Matt says:

    This is really good. Thanks!

  21. jimmy bob says:

    so, is this site dead? no more updates

  22. cliffdogg says:

    Great mixtape. I haven’t visited in a while, happy to see you’re still at it!

  23. Jesus Christ says:

    thanks for this mix. very fun stuff. would love another!

  24. Chris says:

    Whoa – awesome mix.

    Now, how about another hip-hop one? I’m still jamming to your old one….

  25. p says:

    I would to get access to this mix – by any chance can you send me a valid link?

  26. Dre says:

    Good work with the mixtape, a good choice of tunes. Liking the UK indie vibe. Just felt compelled to comment about Mylo, as you said you were having issues finding the original version of Drop The Pressure. The album has been out for a couple of years now so hopefully you should have some better luck finding it. I recommend it whole-heartedly, alot of the critics over here in the UK viewed it as revitalising the flagging dance scene. Without being outrageously original, he has a very distinctive sound and it is a fantastic Summer album full of songs brimming with warmth. If you don’t fancy getting the album, I recommend you try downloading In My Arms, Otto’s Journey, and Valley Of The Dolls. The title track, Destroy Rock’N’Roll, also got alot of air play and seemed a popular track. Anyway, I’m blatantly waffling on, so best end this post lol. Keep up the good work.

  27. skipp says:

    looks awesome, got a live link par chance?

  28. katsirk says:

    your mix looks great, but is there any chance of putting up a live link again?

  29. Phat Farm Store…

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you….