MMMMMMUUUUUUSSSSSIIIICCCCCCCC

badgerloss.jpg

Hey! Contrary to popular belief, I’m not dead (but thanks for the concerned emails guys). I’ve been on a good two week hiatus, and alot has happened since we last spoke. I turned 19 (on March 4th), my Wisconsin Badgers gained their highest seed (2) in the NCAA Tournament in school history (only to get beaten in the second round by FUCKING UNLV). Needless to say, I have the march madness.

Anyways, I didn’t return to the game to tell you all that, I returned to drop some new music for you guys. Heres a little taste of the music that’s been rocking my world recently.

John Legend ft. Pusha T – “Heaven (Remix)”
Sounds like a Common beat, with it’s suburban, accessible vibe and soul samples. Legend provides the crooning and the sex, while Pusha T (of Clipse) provides the real substance of the song, lending a verse in trademark Pusha style. Thats not descriptive at all, but I haven’t written in two weeks, and I’m rusty. Cut me some slack
MP3: John Legend ft. Pusha T – “Heaven (Remix)”

Lil’ Wayne ft. Hot Boyz – “Shine”
I’m aware this song came out back in 2002, but I loved it then and love it now. It’s not your usual ATG-ready song, which may be why I love it so much. The repetitive hook is so damn infectious, and I’ve already professed my love for Weezy here before. Forget the negative stereotypes about mainstream hip-hop and just appreciate it for what it is.
MP3: Lil’ Wayne ft. Hot Boyz – “Shine”

Sufjan Stevens – “Free Man in Paris (Joni Mitchell Cover)”
This song has been making it’s way around the ole’ blogosphere recently, and for good reason. Sufjan does Joni justice, even though he takes the song in a slightly different direction, trading in Mitchell’s more folky approach for abrupt trumpets and bouncy melodies, yet still respecting Joni’s beautiful lyrics. Typical Sufjan.
MP3: Sufjan Stevens – “Free Man in Paris (Joni Mitchell Cover)”

Goldrush – “Heaven’s My Destination”
I had a really tough time coming up with a description for this song. Maybe it’s because I really have no other artist to clearly compare it too. The best I could come up with was a little Sufjan + Postal Serviceesque beats + some secret sauce. With soft violins, chimes and bells, paired harshly with a Jimmy Tamborello drum beat and unique vocals, Goldrush totally blew me away with this track. The quartet from England recently appeared at SXSW, and their first American release, The Heart is the Place, is set to drop on April 10th. I’ll remind you guys when it’s released.
MP3: Goldrush – “Heaven’s My Destination”

Expect more frequent updates in the coming weeks (including a review of Dntel’s new album, my favorite of 2007 so far), as I’ve actually got some free time on my hands.

Love,
Zack

3 Responses to MMMMMMUUUUUUSSSSSIIIICCCCCCCC

  1. DudeAsInCool says:

    Re: Goldrush. Check out the track Wait For the Wheels off their album – pretty hot, me thinks

  2. kabababrubarta says:

    Nice site! kabababrubarta

  3. chrisrowe says:

    absolute gold. Keep on keepin’ on, Zacky-Zoo – now i got jams for room parties

