Viva La Vida / Fish Tacos

Up until recently, I had considered myself a casual Coldplay listener; not wrapped up entirely in the craze but at the same time able to enjoy a few songs here and there. Then Coldplay dropped “Viva la Vida” on me, and everything changed. After listening to the four minute and four second masterpiece, I went back and tried to find any other Coldplay songs that used strings in such epic fashion, but nothing could match the emotion of “Viva la Vida”. I did, however, become hooked on Coldplay for a good solid week, which only made their newest effort sweeter and more relevant. You may have heard the clip from the new iTunes commercial, but listening to a sample and not the entire track is a serious injustice, so grab the song below.

MP3: Coldplay – “Viva la Vida”

Also, check out “Fish Tacos”, Immuzikation’s latest mash-up, which pits Coldplay up against Weezer, Cut Copy, the Blow, M.I.A., and the Reading Rainbow theme. Pretty much amazing.

MP3: Immuzikation – “Fish Tacos (ExtraTartarBlend)”

Love,

Zack

10 Responses to Viva La Vida / Fish Tacos

  1. Kasia says:

    Same thing happened to me, but earlier on in their career. I sampled ‘The Scientist’ and instantly I was hooked on Coldplay like a drug. They are a truly amazing band. Happy listening!

  2. Jennings says:

    Great find with Fish Tacos. Absolutely spectacular mix.

  3. Nicky says:

    ive been alll about viva la vida the past week or so

  4. Reets says:

    Yeh same thing here, but also a favorite of mine has been speed of sound. Coldplay has lots of potential but tends to only have a few good songs i like. They just need to spice it up a bit.

  5. jennifer says:

    thanks for request the cold play song” viva la vida” first time I heard this sample i got hooked on the song. didnt even know at first it was Cold Play. I tried to search it but couldn’t… i love cold play i highly recommend all thier CD’s.

  6. Regina says:

    I had to comment — my introduction to Viva La Vida was JUST like yours and now I can’t stop listening to it. It is haunting…and both the music and the lyrics are terrifically beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  7. chrisrowe says:

    damnit mr zoo i can’t find the full version of said tartarblend. gimme!

  8. Uralic says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Uralic!

  9. Tonya says:

    Words can not explain my feelings when I listen to viva la viva, it is an amazing song. I love not only the strings, but the arrangement, the vocals, the lyrics. It makes me think alot about life and power. Great Band, Great Song!

  10. Ciekawa strona, dodalem ja do ulubionych, zapraszam do odwiedzenia mojej