All Things Go Workout Mixtape Disc 1

June 3, 2010

I know that many of you were waiting for the ATG May Mixtape, but instead of making a monthly mix, I’ve been cooking up a few more themed mixes for your enjoyment over the next few weeks. The first of these is the ATG Workout Mixtape Disc 1. Disc 2 is set to drop a few weeks from now, in case you get tired of this bad boy while you’re pushing it on the treadmill.

I know that my music tastes change drastically when it comes to workout music. I need something with bass, a catchy hook, and a jam with no lulls. That being said, I still enjoy the bands I always have, and thus remixes are the best compromise. Ten of the 15 jams on this mix are remixes, and each and every track was handpicked to give you the biggest boost you need to finish that workout. You’ve got indie-rock remixes (The XX, Temper Trap), Straight house (Duck Sauce, Surkin), Hip hop remixes (KiD CuDi, A-Trak, Ludacris) and just an all-around mega-jam in “Crysteena.” By the final track, Crystal Castles “Magic Spells,” you should be completely spent. Pop on this one hour and twelve minute rump-shaker and I guarantee that the ATG Workout Mixtape is, in the words of the legendary C & C Music Factory, “gonna make you sweat.”

.ZIP: All Things Go Workout Mixtape Disc 1 [mediafire]

01) MP3: The XX – “Crystalised (Keljet Remix)”
02) MP3: MSTRKRFT – “Bounce (ft. N.O.R.E.)”
03) MP3: Fake Blood – “Mars (Style of Eye Remix)”
04) MP3: The Bloody Beetroots – “Dimmakmmunication”
05) MP3: Surkin – “White Knight Two”
06) MP3: KiD CuDi – “Pursuit of Happiness (Steve Aoki Remix)”
07) MP3: Ludacris – “How Low (The Filth Remix)”
08) MP3: A-Trak – “Trizzy Turnt Up”
09) MP3: Mille – “Crysteena (Fear of Tigers Remix)”
10) MP3: Duck Sauce – “Barbara Streisand (O-God Remix)”
11) MP3: Moullinex – “Lover in Me”
12) MP3: Two Door Cinema Club – “What You Know (LightsoverLA Remix)”
13) MP3: Little Boots – “Stuck on Repeat (Fake Blood Remix)”
14) MP3: The Temper Trap – “Sweet Disposition (Axwell & Dirty South Remix)”
15) MP3: Crystal Castles – “Magic Spells”



The True Lover in You

May 18, 2010

Back in 2007, I was lucky enough to see Daft Punk live in Brooklyn on their Alive tour. After the show, I sort of fell into the belief that I (along with my friend and loyal reader Will) were actually slowly becoming robots. I figured that my conversion, which looked sort of like an Animorphs book cover, was the only way to explain why I loved their music so damn much. My excitement at said transformation was tempered when I discovered that I wasn’t becoming a robot, but rather just really really really liked Daft Punk.

While I admire that the French duo take their time between releases to make them that much sweeter, I am consistently frustrated with a lack of quality substitutes. Some are too grungy, others too simple, others still just plain horrible. Imagine my excitement, then, when the group announced that they were scoring Tron Legacy. If I could pre-order tickets for the film, I would, but it’s a bit early for that.

Then I heard Moullinex, and I calmed down a bit. Granted, it’s unfair to label the Munich-based DJ/Producer as a Daft Punk wannabe or imitator, but damn if “Lover in Me” doesn’t work as a perfect substitute to my favorite bionic neon masterminds. From the awesome tambourine breakdown to the catchy-as-all-hell chorus, the song just screams “I AM AN EPIC MEGAJAM,” so, yeah, it’s big. Have yourself a listen, and grab a bunch of his remixes on his myspace.

MP3: Moullinex – “Lover in Me”


PS: Thanks to DadetoDane for the tip. My boy from Wisconsin is KILLIN’ IT over there.