October 7, 2010

Kanye West is one of the most highly controversial musicians of our generation, with everyone and their mother having some sort of opinion on him. Some hate him for the “I’mma let you finish” fiasco (though you have to love the internet meme-fiesta it spawned). Others hate him for his autotune experimentation on 808s and Heartbreak. Others still hate him for just being all-around arrogant and self-important.

Count me out of the Kanye hate parade. I don’t know what it is, but I absolutely love the guy. Maybe it has to do with the fact that I bumped College Dropout exclusively for an entire Summer. Maybe it’s because his beats are hands down the most creative, potent, and intricate in popular music these days. Or maybe it’s because his swagger is so goddamn genuine that it’s just refreshing to see someone be honest. I think it’s all of those things, plus the fact that he called Franz Ferdinand “White Crunk” and worked with Bon Iver on his new album, (oh, and his flawless twitter game). Kanye has been leaking songs on what he calls G.O.O.D. Friday for the past few weeks, and nearly everything has been absolutely top notch, save for “Runaway.” “Monster” features the angriest verse I’ve ever heard from Nicki Minaj and the beat is out of control; “Devil in a New Dress” is vintage Kanye; “So Appalled” features great verses from hip-hop’s best; and “Lost in the World,” which features Bon Iver singing his epic, “The Woods,” is actually too awesome to post.

His latest track, “Christian Dior Denim Flow” is instrumentally creative and sonically abrasive, and the verses contributed by ‘Ye, Pusha T, Lloyd Banks, John Legend, Ryan Leslie, and KiD CuDi are just plain dirty, especially Pusha T’s. Brace yourself folks, the real Kanye West is back, and he’s fucking angry.

MP3: Kanye West – “Christian Dior Denim Flow (ft. John Legend, Pusha T, Lloyd Banks, KiD CuDi, & Ryan Leslie)”



All Things Go Workout Mixtape Disc 1

June 3, 2010

I know that many of you were waiting for the ATG May Mixtape, but instead of making a monthly mix, I’ve been cooking up a few more themed mixes for your enjoyment over the next few weeks. The first of these is the ATG Workout Mixtape Disc 1. Disc 2 is set to drop a few weeks from now, in case you get tired of this bad boy while you’re pushing it on the treadmill.

I know that my music tastes change drastically when it comes to workout music. I need something with bass, a catchy hook, and a jam with no lulls. That being said, I still enjoy the bands I always have, and thus remixes are the best compromise. Ten of the 15 jams on this mix are remixes, and each and every track was handpicked to give you the biggest boost you need to finish that workout. You’ve got indie-rock remixes (The XX, Temper Trap), Straight house (Duck Sauce, Surkin), Hip hop remixes (KiD CuDi, A-Trak, Ludacris) and just an all-around mega-jam in “Crysteena.” By the final track, Crystal Castles “Magic Spells,” you should be completely spent. Pop on this one hour and twelve minute rump-shaker and I guarantee that the ATG Workout Mixtape is, in the words of the legendary C & C Music Factory, “gonna make you sweat.”

.ZIP: All Things Go Workout Mixtape Disc 1 [mediafire]

01) MP3: The XX – “Crystalised (Keljet Remix)”
02) MP3: MSTRKRFT – “Bounce (ft. N.O.R.E.)”
03) MP3: Fake Blood – “Mars (Style of Eye Remix)”
04) MP3: The Bloody Beetroots – “Dimmakmmunication”
05) MP3: Surkin – “White Knight Two”
06) MP3: KiD CuDi – “Pursuit of Happiness (Steve Aoki Remix)”
07) MP3: Ludacris – “How Low (The Filth Remix)”
08) MP3: A-Trak – “Trizzy Turnt Up”
09) MP3: Mille – “Crysteena (Fear of Tigers Remix)”
10) MP3: Duck Sauce – “Barbara Streisand (O-God Remix)”
11) MP3: Moullinex – “Lover in Me”
12) MP3: Two Door Cinema Club – “What You Know (LightsoverLA Remix)”
13) MP3: Little Boots – “Stuck on Repeat (Fake Blood Remix)”
14) MP3: The Temper Trap – “Sweet Disposition (Axwell & Dirty South Remix)”
15) MP3: Crystal Castles – “Magic Spells”


That’s My Commandment, You Ain’t Gotta Ask Moses

October 8, 2009


All in all, I’m not too big of a fan of Kid Cudi, (KiD CuDi? kId cUdI? KID CUDI!?). However, letting Kanye get back to the basics with the sample of Lady GaGa’s “Poker Face” was a stroke of genius. When I hear “Make Her Say”, I get all nostalgic, wishing ‘Ye could go back to the College Dropout production days. What’s truly ironic is that CuDi is more in the vein of 808s and Heartbreak (see: shitty) Kanye, but I’m not complaining.

This is all just a long way of saying a short thing: go listen to Sammy Bananas make you dance.

MP3: KiD CuDi ft. Kanye West & Common – “Make Her Say (Sammy Bananas Remix)” (Removed at artist’s request)