IT’S GETTING HARD TO KEEP PRETENDING

Over the weekend, I spent a lot of time in my car. During these drives, I figured I would pick and album and really work to get into it. The album of choice last weekend happened to be Yeasayer’s Odd Blood. I had listened a few times (and had listened to “Ambling Alp” like, a million times) but for some reason never fully committed my attention to it. What a monumental mistake that was.

Odd Blood is hands down the best album of 2010 for so many reasons. First off, the album is the most simultaneously original and sonically pleasing piece of work I’ve heard in years. It’s abundantly clear that Yeasayer spends ample time perfecting each layer of their tracks, from the unique drum patterns to the creative vocal melodies. Now, it’s not like I didn’t already love the band (2007’s All Hour Cymbals is an ATG favorite) but they thoroughly outdid themselves, and the rest of the music scene, with songs like “Madder Red,” “I Remember,” “O.N.E.” and the incomparable “Ambling Alp.” Check out the video for “Madder Red,” a heartbreaking tale about Kristen Bell and her somehow incredibly lovable amorphous one-eyed blob of flesh with a weird arm thing. The song and video pairing is top notch, and expect to find the song, and Odd Blood, to appear at the top of my year end lists.

MP3: Yeasayer – “Madder Red”

One Response to IT’S GETTING HARD TO KEEP PRETENDING

