MEET ME IN THE HALLWAY

I don’t know much about Bombay Bicycle Club, but from what I’ve read, many people seem a bit frustrated that the band changed directions from “energetic post-punk revivalists” to something more in the vein of Iron & Wine with their new album, Flaws. I can’t speak on this too much, since I never listened to their debut LP, I Had the Blues But I Shook Them Loose, but I think Flaws is a pretty decent album. Sure, it seems fairly easy to make the sort of folk that Bombay Bicycle Club deliver in the form of their second album, but a part of me always comes back to Sam Beam, Jose Gonzalez, or any other artist who can capture my attention with little more than a quivering guitar riff and a soothing voice. This is why I shun the critics and embrace Flaws for what it is; an unsophisticated series of familiar acoustic melodies. That’s just the way I like it.

I’m posting “Ivy & Gold” so that you can get a feel for what the album is like, but, really, it’s best listened to in its entirety.

In other note, direct linkage from here on out!!

MP3: Bombay Bicycle Club – “Ivy & Gold”

Love,
Zack

Comments are closed.

