WILL YOU FINISH WHAT YOU STARTED?

UPDATE: Song removed upon request.

HOW DID I MISS THIS? Back in February, a devastating earthquake hit Haiti (this is not the part I didn’t know, thank you). What I missed, however, was the compilation, Hear to Help, put together by FILTER and American Eagle to raise money for Oxfam America (to provide relief for the ‘quake victims) that featured new music from Grizzly Bear, Beck, and JULIAN MOTHERFLIPPIN’ CASABLANCAS. As you may know, I have a bit of a man-crush on Julian. After seeing a whole set three songs live back in January, I became obsessed with his solo album, Phrazes for the Young. Anyway, his contribution to the mix, “Long Island Blues,” sounds like classic Bob Dylan; a mostly acoustic epic with a warm organ section and cleverly opposing verses. Go. Listen. Now.

MP3: Julian Casablancas – “Long Island Blues”

Love,
Zack

2 Responses to WILL YOU FINISH WHAT YOU STARTED?

  1. kath says:

    sounds awesome! thanks! 😀

    and totally random, but have you heard sufjan stevens is working on a new album?

  2. Hanan says:

    I was humming this song a few days ago

