It All Comes at Once.

I liked “Horchata” with its clever word play and obscure references to Spanish drinks I wasn’t aware existed. That’s the type of pretention we’ve come to know and love from Vampire Weekend. But I was not super impressed with “Cousins,” I’ll be honest. Pitchfork referred to it as a “the closest these non-punk punks have come to making a punk song” and frankly, I just wasn’t buying it.

But “White Sky?” I LOVE IT. It sort of re-news my fascination with the band after being disenchanted with their intense over-exposure. Ezra Koenig seems to use his voice as an echo-y windpipe against the backdrop of the bubbly, richly-layered beat and the contrast is intense and quirky and delightful.

Plus the line, “A thousand little Julias that come together in the middle of Manhattan” is a great GREAT lyric.

Fingers crossed that I can make it to a show here in NYC later this month and report back.

MP3: Vampire Weekend – “White Sky”

xo,
Linds

One Response to It All Comes at Once.

  1. adrienne says:

    agreed. i’m not feeling California English either.

