Sleigh Bells Ring (Are You Listening?)

sb3magazine-illustrationmyspacehead

I’ve already written about this group at length over at PI + CS but I love them so much that I wanted to feature them here on All Things Go as well.

Sleigh Bells is what you want to put on when you’ve had a really bad day and need to blast all disruption out of your head. I mean, it’s really flippin’ LOUD MUSIC. Which is exactly why it is awesome. It’s just guitar player Derek Miller and singer Alexis Krauss. I suppose that’s one of the reasons why I am held in such awe of these songs. (How do only TWO people make all that noise? Mystifying.) Anyways, the pair produce this infectious sound that will creep into your brain and reside their for a week minimum.

I’d be lying if I didn’t say a major part of the attraction wasn’t the fact that Alexis Krauss is a total bad-ass frontwoman.

She reminds me of Alison Mosshart (The Kills/The Dead Weather) just a bit, but she is gritter than Mosshart even, as she doesn’t need a Jamie Hince or Jack White. She holds her own thankyouverymuch. Secretly, I wish I were either of these ladies. I harbor hidden desires to hop up on stage and scream into a microphone whilst wearing a leather jacket and smoking from a pack of Marlboro Reds.

MP3: Sleigh Bells – “Crown on the Ground”
MP3: Sleigh Bells – “Infinity Guitars”

xo,
Linds

One Response to Sleigh Bells Ring (Are You Listening?)

  1. Linds says:

    also whoops sorry guys. Her name is in fact ALEXIS. I just made a little slip when I was writing about both singers. MY BAD. Getting Zack to fix it 🙂

