Nostalgia, Italy, and Florence & the Machine

June08Ebay163

Leave it little adorable Londoner Florence Welch to remind me that the best five months of my life are over. Every once in a while, I catch a snapshot of Florence (Italy, that is) in a magazine or website article and reminisce about the eye-opening experiences I had. Welch, a.k.a. Florence & the Machine, recently covered Beirut’s “Postcards from Italy”, which was a mainstay on every playlist I made in Europe. The cover sees Florence in a quieter mood, a far cry from her usually quirky and manic stylings (see: Regina Spektor on synths).

“Postcards from Italy” may go down as one of the most nostalgia-inducing songs of all time; not just because of my special connection to it, but because of the mood of the track as a whole. Zach Condon is a genius songwriter and Florence most definitely does him justice. Also check Beirut performing the song live on the Black Sessions below.

MP3: Florence & the Machine – “Postcards from Italy (Beirut Cover)”
MP3: Beirut – “Postcards from Italy (Black Sessions)”

For those of you looking for more from the little lady, head on over to Neon Gold and check out a remix of her song “Rabbit Heart”, which I definitely recommend.

Love,
Zack

4 Responses to Nostalgia, Italy, and Florence & the Machine

  1. Leah says:

    Ahhhh, the live Beirut version of this is beyond spectacular.

  2. Kath says:

    Do you know where I can buy the Beirut cover? :]

  3. Kath says:

    I’ve been trying to find Florence + The Machine’s version of this song so I can buy it, but I can’t find it! Do you know where I can get it?

