Ryan’s Ramblings: Au Revoir Europe, Bon Jour New York

castleisgone

Ahhhh, it shouldn’t be this long between posts. I have no excuse, but I guess something is better than nothing. Well, since it’s been awhile, I guess I have a lot to ‘splain.

Traveling with Zack for 3 weeks around Europe and saying good-bye to London was both fun and painful; while excited to be back in the States, I would miss Europe, the accents, pints, and the proper pronunciation of the word “twat” (it should rhyme with cat). However, since the beginning of June I’ve been living in New York City, following up one massive city with another in the hopes of distracting myself. I do have some music, though, that I need to share from my time in London that will always remind me of it.

The Castle Is Gone was a musical gift from my friend Sam, and even though it’s only a 4 song EP by California-based relative unknowns Chief, it’s been on heavy rotation for me. Using overlapping electric and acoustic guitars, and full harmony in their vocals, Chief does a great job making seemingly simple songs full of sound. The thing I love most about “Far Away” and “Nice People” is the lyrics, which manage to capture confusing and conflicting emotions in a vague, yet direct way.

MP3: Chief – “Far Away”
MP3: Chief – “Nice People”

The other song that I have to share is a French song. I don’t know who wrote it, I don’t know when it was recorded, and I don’t know all the lyrics. I have some idea of what it’s called and that’s “Tout les Garcons et les Filles,” or all the boys and girls. I would love it if someone could translate this and send it to me. That way I don’t have to pretend I know the lyrics by uttering random french sounding syllables. (Zack’s Note: Au Bon Pain Au Bon Pain).

MP3: French Person? – French Song?

J’taime,
Ryan

7 Responses to Ryan’s Ramblings: Au Revoir Europe, Bon Jour New York

  1. ekkooo says:

    Because it’s “Tous les garçons et les filles” by Françoise Hardy recorded in 1962
    Recorded in english 2 years later : “Find me a Boy”

  2. Ryan says:

    After writing this I did a thorough search (by that I mean I googled it) and found out. Still don’t trust the English version of the song as a translation though, they change the words all the time

  3. Linds says:

    Je t’aime. Just saying. 🙂

  4. Zack says:

    Je shut up.

  5. Ryan says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one to correct zack’s french

  6. Linds says:

    Je watch your mouth BOI

  7. Jaimie says:

    How do people say ‘twat’ in the states??

    I love your blog by the way.

