Claire’s Column: Updates

cc

Hi Everyone,

It’s been a while, but I thought it was time to make a post after a little hiatus. I went to visit Zack in Italy for spring break. We had a lot of fun together, walking around Florence and eating plenty. He has been doing weekly DJ sets at a local bar and I was lucky enough to make it to two of them. I am pretty jealous of the life he has right now. Florence is absolutely beautiful.

I’m back in Connecticut starting to prepare for finals and thankfully the weather is slowly beginning to improve. With summer rapidly approaching I decided to post a few songs I have been listening to that are helping me get through my work (sort of).

My brother Matt introduced me to the first song, “Rawnald Gregory Erikson the Second,” this past weekend and ever since I haven’t been able to get it out of my head. The song is mellow, but catchy. It reminds me a little of Pinback’s sound. Starfucker is quickly becoming one of my new favorite bands.

On my flight back from Italy I listened to “Skeleton Boy” over and over again, it’s so good that I didn’t even care about the risk of getting sick of it. It is one of my favorite songs of the year so far. Zack has always been a fan of Friendly Fires, but it took this song for me to really begin to appreciate them. If you haven’t seen the music video it is worth checking out below as well.

I have a weakness for songs with violins (little known fact: Zack is a former violinist), and thus the moment I heard Ra Ra Riot’s song “Oh La” I was hooked. It’s just so pretty.

MP3: Starfucker – “Rawnald Gregory Erikson the Second”
MP3: Friendly Fires – “Skeleton Boy”
MP3: Ra Ra Riot – “Oh La”

Also, since both Zack and I are slightly obsessed with dogs, I thought it would only be appropriate to mention the Obama family’s recent acquisition of a Portuguese Water Dog named Bo (after Bo Diddley). Zack’s dog, Xena, is a Portuguese and my first yellow lab’s name was Beau, so I’d like to think our dogs inspired the Obama’s…somehow?(Ed’s Note: My mom actually discussed Portuguese’s with Barack. True story).

Love,

Claire

Comments are closed.

