[202] TheFiveOne – What Sarah Said

rcmts7

[202] is a new feature here at ATG where we point the spotlight on up-and-coming musicians in the DMV (DC/MD/VA) area.

When my dad comments on the blog to tell me I’m not active enough, I feel like it’s about time to kick it into gear. Why not break the silence with a new feature, [202], which I have created to shed some light on a handful of talented D.C. area musicians who are ready to establish the District as a hotbed of young talent. Who better to start with than TheFiveOne, a multi-talented quartet consisting of Red, Blue, Green, and Gold (who wear clothes that correspond, to avoid the confusion there). The group has started a remix project aptly titled “5109: The Remix Album”, in which the band re-imagines some of your favorites every Wednesday, including Lupe’s “Fighters”, Marley’s “Waiting in Vain”, and Vampire Weekend’s “The Kids Don’t Stand a Chance”, adding some refreshing live instrumentals and raw verses. I wrote about these guys over at mtvU last week, but I figured more exposure couldn’t hurt anyone, and I’m fully aware that basically none of you read my mtvU posts. I mention all of this because the group released their 14th remix in the series, “What Sarah Said”. I had no idea that a song as ballady and depressing as the DCFC classic could ever be sampled and used as the backing for some conscious-as-shit rhymes. Check the remix below, and be sure to tune in every Wednesday for updates from the foursome from the Chocolate City.

MP3: TheFiveOne – “What Sarah Said (Death Cab For Cutie)”

Love,

Zack

2 Responses to [202] TheFiveOne – What Sarah Said

  1. Kath says:

    Oh my goodness.
    This is ah-mazing.

  2. Chris says:

    I recently did an interview with The Five One for my blog The Stu Reid Experiment – check it out!

    http://www.thestureidexperiment.com/2009/09/tsre-wonders-exclusive-interview-with.html

