Ryan is Back, and so are The Thermals

thermals-drawn

So. It’s been awhile (Over two years, actually). I haven’t been too active on the blogosphere lately, or very much at all for that matter, but I’d like to start this post by saying that I will try my best to highlight the little bits of the London music scene that I get to be a part of. Don’t expect reviews of the bigger names (most people already know all about those groups anyway). Do expect some (hopefully) titillating, smaller bands that don’t make it to the states.

As most of you can’t help but know, Zack is in Florence this semester. I chose to come to the city I have long been obsessed with, London. After being here a month, I can easily say that this is one of the most international and culturally active cities in the world, and rivals, if not defeats, New York as the best, massive city in the world. Most of my new friends here would kill me for claiming that, but it’s true. I’m staying in the King’s Cross neighborhood in the northern part of central London, which puts me a short tube ride away from just about every major venue, bar, and club in the city’s center.

This place, however, is also ridiculously expensive. As in, I don’t spend money on food because I can’t afford it expensive. My student income (none at all) has driven me to take on the glorifying position as a bar-back in a nearby bar/venue, called the Lexington, located down the block from me. Nothing makes me want to drink less than memories from my first shift there. Everyone assumes that, when they are drunk, they somewhat keep their shit together, they’re the shit, or that it’s fun to get shit-faced. This is not true. After working from 7 PM to 4 AM, gathering glasses and pushing my way through all the crowds, I ended covered in that shit. Not glamorous, but it pays and has its perks.

And luckily one of those perks came this past Monday, when I got to see The Thermals headline a sold-out show at The Lexington, for free (I’m the shit, right?). The Thermals were one of those bands that flew under my radar for a while until they released The Body, The Blood, The Machine, way back in 2006, when they’re uncomplicated, creatively done, and above all smart indie-punk rock songs blew me away. Don’t be fooled by the term “punk rock”, though, the only part about their music that sounds like what you listened to at 15 is the fact that they use power chords. Perfectly. I don’t really know how else to describe their music, but it truly deserves a good listen to see what I mean. Fortunately, their set heavily featured tracks from their new forth-coming album, Now We Can See, which shows them slowing their style even more than the last album and taking a deliberate look at life from a perspective after death. Confusing? Just listen to the title track and the song “I Let It Go.” Listen closely, and enjoy.

MP3: The Thermals – “Now We Can See”
MP3: The Thermals – “I Let it Go”

-Ryan

4 Responses to Ryan is Back, and so are The Thermals

  1. Bub says:

    Excited about this one – hopefully it will erase the bad taste in my mouth that I have from the last album.

  2. Ryan says:

    What about the last album left a bad taste in your mouth? I personally found it to be there most varied and best album to date.

