P.O.S – Never Better

UPDATE: Last one.  Promise.  It’s back up now.

UPDATE: For technical reasons, I’ve taken down the “Drumroll” video, but it’ll be back up tomorrow.  In the meantime, enjoy the track I posted yesterday.

UPDATE: I’ve added another track off of Never Better, “Goodbye,” to the post.  Good stuff.

I’ve mentioned several times on the site that I’m horrible at reviewing hip-hop. I also placed P.O.S’s Audition on my Best of 2006 list (and yes, prepare yourself for a much-belated Best of 2008 post). The Minnesota hip-hop artist has always held a place in my heart, not only because he’s fantastic at what he does, but he’s very open about his musical upbringing which includes some hip-hop, but also punk legends like Refused and At the Drive-In. Well, in February he’s going to be releasing his next album, Never Better, and from what I’ve heard so far, I’m guessing it’s going to be nothing short of amazing. For one thing, he, how do you say, “spits rhymes like hot fire.” Secondly, the backing beat off the album’s first single, “Drumroll,” is unbelievable. As its title implies, the song centers itself around a powerful, ongoing drumroll. Also, as he has done in the past, P.O.S throws in some grinding guitar and bass lines, giving the song an unusual but welcome punk rock feel.

MP3: P.O.S. – Goodbye

Love,
Adrian

4 Responses to P.O.S – Never Better

  1. Linds says:

    I can’t believe you did that. You are so fired. (kidding)

  2. Linds says:

    POS video is up now, you’re all good 🙂

  3. Adrian says:

    Wonderful. Let me know if my awesomeness happens to bring down the system/mainframe/whatever again.

  4. T.J. says:

    gotta love an album where judah nagler contributes vocals.

