Thrice – Live at the House of Blues

I’m not a huge fan of live albums.  The only one I can remember liking was Blink 182’s The Mark Tom and Travis Show (and half of that can be attributed to the hundreds of fart jokes Mark and Tom told between songs).  However, I was excited to hear that the post-rockers Thrice were releasing one before the end of 2008.  Earlier in the year they released the third and fourth installments of their ambitious Alchemy Index EP project, so to hear that they were giving something else to fans was a welcome announcement.  I didn’t expect to be blown away, but wouldn’t you know it, I was.

It really helped that I had seen these guys live before.  I would definitely put their live act up there on my personal list of best shows, on par with Brand New and the Arcade Fire.  Listening to Live at the House of Blues brought back memories of being blown away by Dustin Kensrue’s booming voice and guitarist Teppei Teranishi’s simple but powerful and well-placed guitarwork in person.  They’re just one of those bands whose live shows make listening to their recorded material that much better, and the live album serves as a perfect reminder of that.  The album houses a nice variety of their music that does justice to the band’s discography, including tracks from The Illusion of Safety, The Artist in the Ambulance, Vheissu, and The Alchemy Index Vols. I-IV (although I wish they would’ve given some love to “Image of the Invisible”).  If you’re at all a fan of the band, then pick this album up.  But it’s by no means a substitute to their live show.  Go see them as soon as possible.

MP3: Thrice – Cold Cash and Colder Hearts (Live)
MP3: Thrice – Red Sky (Live)

Love,
Adrian

4 Responses to Thrice – Live at the House of Blues

  1. Kaylynn says:

    I agree. I saw them opening up for Rise Against in October, they were amazing.

  2. Doctor says:

    Мог бы долго с вами спорить на эту тему 🙂

  3. Rob says:

    I’ve seen both thrice and brand new live, and both were amazing, but brand new really took the cake for me. Anathallo was opening, and I’d never heard of them before, and they amazed me, But at the end of Brand New’s set they got all nine members of Anathallo to come out and have a massive jam seession/break down, wherein Jesse Lacey collapsed on the ground, pulled a massive guitar amp onto his body, lay there for about 10 minutes, and then got up and destroyed one of the two drum sets as Brian Lane kept playing.

    Needless to say it was awesome and the best show of my life

  4. Will says:

    I have yet to see Thrice live, but they’ve always been on my list. I hope I get to, soon.

    Now this is a little off topic, but has anyone heard the new Used single? What do you think?