Claire’s Weekly Column: Thanksgiving Hangover

artwork_6

Hi everyone,

I hope you all had a good holiday. It’s been a while since I wrote my last post. I thought I would be able to motivate myself to write one during Thanksgiving break but instead I avoided doing anything productive entirely. Thanksgiving break is a tease; just when I get used to being home again it’s time to go back. I’m back at school now after a seven hour train ride, missing D.C., and trying to get myself back into school mode.

Whenever I get back from a break I go through a period of D.C. withdrawal. With inauguration day approaching, D.C. is a pretty exciting place to be right now. On January 20th the population of our city is expected to increase to six million people. Hotels all over the area (all the way out to West Virginia) are booked to capacity and people are renting their houses out for thousands of dollars. I am missing my first classes of the semester in order to be in town. I am anxiously anticipating the beginning of Obama’s presidency and although initially I had mixed feelings about some of his cabinet selections (and school selections for that matter…) I am warming up to them now and I am truly excited to have confidence in a president once again. Now onto the music…

Over break I came across two songs that I cannot stop listening to, neither of them are new but if you haven’t listened to them you should.

MP3: Nada Surf – “See these Bones”
MP3: Page France – “Jesus”

I’ve never been a huge fan of Nada Surf, but “See these Bones” is, for lack of a better phrase, really pretty. I heard it first a few months ago and didn’t think much of it but this time around the chorus drew me in. Zack introduced me to Page France’s music and this song a while ago. I always liked it but until I re-listened to “Jesus” I had never really been hooked on one particular song. Their music has a tendency to be unoriginal and formulaic but this song stands out.

Alright, time for me to get back into school mode. Christmas break is only twelve days away but I have a lot of work to get through before then.

-Claire

4 Responses to Claire’s Weekly Column: Thanksgiving Hangover

  1. RellsDapperRebel says:

    four 4page papers, a 12page research paper, a 15page group project, and two finals–but the puppies from your previous post, the nada surf song, and thoughts of the nation’s capital are keeping the mind at ease.

  2. Linds says:

    loving these picks. who would have thought Nada Surf?

  3. partyanimal says:

    Your post was wonderful, keep it up. I look forward to Claire’s Column!

    you rock, don’t ever change

  4. Magic rulez says:

    “sometimes you have to look for music in the past in order to satisfy the present”- Tony Bennett. Claire, i think you and tony bennett have a lot more in common than you would think ๐Ÿ˜‰

