Friendly Fires – Jump in the Pool

UK product Friendly Fires released their self-titled debut in the UK on September 1st, and the album has received acclaim on both sides of the pond. The album is carried on the strength of its two breathtaking singles, “Paris” and “Jump in the Pool”, especially the latter, which already rests comfortably on top of my list of the best singles of 2008 (“Sleepy Head” eat your heart out). Honestly though, “Jump in the Pool” completely renews my faith in the music industry. Listening to the song is the musical equivalent of re-living your favorite dream. The harmony of “ahhs” that bless your ears from the onset seem to trumpet the arrival of this promising young band. Much like The Strokes, Friendly Fires have mastered the art of layered instrumentals, creating a massive and thick sound that pulls you in and promptly spits you out. By the end of the song, my body and mind are overwhelmed with nostalgia; the song is familiar and yet fresh and inviting upon each and every listen. The band has a staggering amount of potential, and let’s pray that “Jump in the Pool” is just the tip of the iceberg that is their young career.

For the sake of everything good in this world, I implore you to listen to this song not through iPod headphones, but rather through the highest-quality music player your money can afford. Trust that it’s worth it.

MP3: Friendly Fires – “Jump in the Pool”

7 Responses to Friendly Fires – Jump in the Pool

  1. erik says:

    yeah this whole album is absolutely amazing, i was listening to it already when i opened ATG this morning. made me feel a little bit better about myself, haha.

  2. tavaris says:

    man this shit is whack.. listen 2 some good lold school 7th floor crew

  3. Peanut says:

    This is also my single of the year. It’s perfect for slipping into the middle of a dancey DJ set, even if it’s more ‘electronic’ music, people still go nuts for this one!

  4. cougarmicrobes says:

    been playing these guys all week at work. As always ATG is on the ball!

  5. Mike says:

    Great blog. This is a great post about a great band. How very great indeed…

    Check out my musical mewsings here if you’re interested : http://therecommender.net

    Mike,
    UK

  6. […] cover of her hit, “I’m Good I’m Gone” by none other than newcomers (and ATG favorites) Friendly Fires. In my mind, these guys can do no wrong, so naturally, I instantly fell in love […]

  7. […] of it. It is one of my favorite songs of the year so far. Zack has always been a fan of Friendly Fires, but it took this song for me to really begin to appreciate them. If you haven’t seen the […]

