Hump Day Headlines

stwithjackie.jpg

First off, I know that this is a music blog, and therefore you might be surprised/annoyed that my last three posts have not been music-related (all about the Redskins). Understand, though, that Sean Taylor is truly my favorite athlete, and, being an avid sports fan, these last few days have been unbelievably difficult for me. I just want to reiterate that we here at ATG send our deepest condolences to Sean’s family and friends. Check out Michael Wilbon’s interesting article on the topic.

On a lighter note, congratulations to our Mark Ronson contest winners: WILL and CHRIS ROWE. We had some great duo’s (props to the Zack/Adrian and fried chicken/watermelon suggestions, ironic props to the Linkin Park/Jay-Z suggestion), but nothing really beats Will & Tessa, and Food & Liquor. Thanks to everyone for participating, and expect a few more contests in the coming weeks.

daftpunkalive.jpg

Daft Punk’s Alive 2007 has been released, and it is unbelievable. While nothing compares to seeing them live (in Brooklyn, AWH YEAH), putting on this recording of their live set in Paris comes close. Check out “One More Time/Aerodynamic”, one of the highlights of the set.

MP3: Daft Punk – “One More Time/Aerodynamic”

hoodinternetmashup.jpg

Mash-up masterminds The Hood Internet have just passed the platinum mark for online downloads, and, in honor of their achievement, they have released their second mixtape, which contains gems such as “Our Boyz” featuring Ocelot’s “This is Our Time” synths and M.I.A.’s “Boyz” vocals. Pick up the mixtape here.

Finally, for anyone living in the in D.C. area, my brother’s ever-so-lovely girlfriend/coolest person ever Alexandra is starring in a rendition of Babes in Toyland on Friday, the 30th, until December 9th at the Atlas Performing Arts Center in Washington. Pick up tickets here, and check out the show. I saw her performance a few months back in the Secret Garden, and, needless to say, if I was home I’d be at that show in a second.

Have a good rest of the week, check the alternate links after the jump, and again, rest in peace Sean Taylor.

Love,
Zack

MP3: Daft Punk – “One More Time/Aerodynamic” [alternate link]

One Response to Hump Day Headlines

  1. Michael says:

    I hate contests. Seriously, what could possibly beat God and the Virgin Mary? or Michael and K.I.T.T. for that matter?

    No I’m not bitter. I’m gonna go sulk while listening to some Daft Punk.

