Happy Halloween

halloween.jpg

Happy Halloween everybody! Since our massive (see: 40k people) halloween celebration was on last Friday and Saturday and since I have two monstrous papers due Thursday and Friday, I will not be able to take part in any festivities tonight. Our Daft Punk blacklight party on Friday was everything I imagined and more, and in the process I was inspired to make another Dance Mixtape, so expect that to be coming soon. Also expect a few more mixtapes in the near future, as I finally will be having a bit of free time.

The main purpose of this post is not to celebrate Halloween, but to ask you readers which direction you’d like to see All Things Go go in. More mixtapes and weekly themed posts? More obscure artist profiles? More random music posts? Something new? I’ve come to a crossroads here at ATG. I’ve been writing for this site since its inception in January 2006, and our readership has grown steadily, yet has become stagnant recently due to a complete lack of consistent posts. One remedy was the addition of Ethan. Another was the upgrade to a new, more reliable webhosting service. We really need your help in deciding what to do next, so please let us know by emailing us at allthingsgoblog@gmail.com or by adding a comment. Maybe all I need to get more motivated is some lovin’.

Lastly, my favorite eighth-grade hipster who knows infinitely more about music than me even though he’s like 13, Will Cafritz, has turned me on to a solid track off of Of Montreal’s most recent LP, Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer?. “A Sentence of Sorts in Kongsvinger” contains all the usual Of Montreal traits, including goofy synths and vocals, bizarre lyrics, and, of course, a ridiculous track name. Check the song out, and also be sure to check out Will’s awesome (and goofy) adaptation of Daft Punk’s “Make Love” on youtube. Who knows, maybe we should add Will to our man-stable here at ATG.

MP3: Of Montreal – “A Sentence of Sorts in Kongsvinger”

YOUTUBE: Daft Punk – “Make Love” [directed by Will Cafritz]

Love,
Zack

12 Responses to Happy Halloween

  1. Nicky says:

    more nick miller!

  2. c. bear says:

    make will a writer!!!!! wooooooooo

  3. Dan says:

    I’d love lots of mixtapes and themed days, and random music posts are always great.
    great job.
    really great.
    .
    🙂

  4. mad morris says:

    Mixtapes. Love ’em. I like the Dance, hip-hop and chill ones…

  5. Laura says:

    I don’t know about the music, but I saw you write this in history class today. Way to inadvertently get another visitor today. =)

  6. lindzy says:

    thats creepy

  7. chrisrowe says:

    I think Gronlandic Edit is the best song off Hissing Fauna, but all in all a quality Of Montreal album.

    Hard to pick which part of ATG is best Mr. Friendly – but its gotta be the mixtapes, assuming your bandwidth can handle it.

    Just keep on keepin’ on. wawawewa

  8. Leela says:

    Just post, please post. I miss the posts. The best thing about this blog is that it is snuggly. Personal. Panda-like. Just provide the music, and describe it, and Keep Posting. And I’ll love you forever.

  9. thomas says:

    just be more consistent with posts and id be on here everyday. all the mixtapes are fantastic, but just keep posting and ill keep reading and listening

  10. Derek says:

    More nudity. That’s all I ask.

  11. vince says:

    mixtapes are cool but not the be all and end all. Personally I prefer to find out about obscure bands (as all my latest cds have been bought after reading about them here!) I think the best post was your top of 2006 last year so have high expectations for it this year.

