The Return of Derty Gonzalez

UPDATE: Songs removed. Stream the mixtape, as well as his mixtape West Side of the Moon (a Pink Floyd remix) over HERE at Dert’s official site.

inmynature.jpg

Loyal ATG readers might remember my multiple posts last year on Dert, a versatile producer and remix mastermind from West Covina. His remixtape Sometimes I Rhyme Slow, which featured ATG-favorite Jose Gonzalez’s instrumentals spliced with some of the hottest hip-hop artists, including Common, Kanye, and Nas. He chops up and splices parts of Jose Gonzalez’s Veneer, then adds snares, drums, and other instrumentals. Finally, he tosses in some of the hottest verses in hip-hop to create a unique, cross-genre sound.

Enough review though, let’s get to the reason behind this post. This morning in my inbox, I see an e-mail from a man that calls himself “Derty Gonzalez”. My jaw dropped when I realized that Dert was back, already releasing a beat tape of Jose Gonzalez’s newest release, In Our Nature (one of my favorite albums of the year). After listening to the entire mixtape, In My Nature: A Beat Tape by Dert, multiple times today, I have decided that Dert is a genius. You don’t have to have heard In Our Nature yet to enjoy the mixtape, as it’s flawless. Drop everything you’re doing and download the entire mixtape for free off of Dert’s website. And if you weren’t convinced yet, listen to my two personal favorites; “Down the Line” and “Drip Drop”.

MP3: Dert – “Down the Line”
MP3: Dert – “Drip Drop”

Derty Gonzalez is back y’all.

Love,
Zack

9 Responses to The Return of Derty Gonzalez

  1. sarah says:

    i desperately want to hear this– but this link doesn’t seem to work! where did dert go?????

  2. Me too. My browser recognises the address but nothing seems to load. I can’t find it elsewhere either. It looks fantastic. Can you point me to somewhere i might be able to hear it?

  3. Alex says:

    I am thirding this sentiment. Anybody please helps?

  4. Zack says:

    i removed the links cause jose didn’t want the mixtape to drop before the album.

  5. Zack says:

    but i’ll put them back up when i get permission.

  6. dert says:

    you can put this back up.
    i have a link at my myspace page too
    myspace.com/dertbeats

  7. James says:

    Whats happened to dert? His myspace, blog and website are all gone. I only just got West Side of The Moon and I’m really getting into it. It would be great if I could get some more stuff from him.

    It just seems like he’s disappeared from the internet!

  8. wes says:

    you may find him or some people who sound remarkably like him at: myspace.com/bakfs

  9. MySpace Proxy says:

    Thanks Again for all your help!

