Nick Miller’s Song of the Week: Umbrella-ella-ella

nick-miller-song-of-week.jpg

Nick Miller is a genius. Sure, his renditions of the Stones and Andrew Bird classics were beautiful and ambitious and nice and whatnot, and his original, “Chemicals and Cowboy Boots” may be fun and quirky, but these songs thoroughly pale in comparison to his newest, and finest work to date. While Rihanna and Jay-Z may have collaborated to make the painfully catchy hip-hop dance track of the summer (“Umbrella”), Nick has decided to turn it into the painfully catchy and beautiful folk track of the millenium. Even though Nick may be one of my best friends, and even though I always speak in absolutes and always love everything I write about here, I believe that, if I didn’t know Nick, I would’ve thought that his cover of “Umbrella” was crafted by some popular, thoughtful song-writer along the lines of Sam Beam, Damien Jurado, and the likes. If you’ve never downloaded a Nick Miller track from here, shame on you. But super-duper triple shame on if you don’t give this a listen.

MP3: Nick Miller – “Umbrella” [DOWNLOAD OR DIE]

You can stand under my umbrella-ella-ella-eh-eh.

Love,
Zack

nickfinalbottom.jpg

19 Responses to Nick Miller’s Song of the Week: Umbrella-ella-ella

  1. where can i get the full version?

  2. mark says:

    i like it

  3. anonymous says:

    i LOVE it

  4. Brendan says:

    Really great actually. Much better than the original.

  5. tom says:

    just rubbish.

  6. tom says:

    its pretty good wheres the rest of it tho?

  7. christofa rowesir says:

    His “eh”s are far better than Rihanna’s. But she’s still a young Tyra Banks without the forehead. Not even the content-half-sticking-my-lips-out-and-look-out-yep..-im-grabbing-my-crouch can beat that. I mean, seriously, Tyra without the forehead. Hot damn.

    But fantastic cover nonetheless.

  8. alisbasement says:

    nice work!

  9. josephine says:

    dude.

    This is Spectacular. If only you could do this to every painfully catchy pop song.

  10. Paris says:

    holyyyy shit

    im speechless. this is AMAZING.

    seriously…you’re voice is amazing. you kind of remind me of ryan adams..but honestly i think that this cover is better than any of his covers (including wonderwall).

    my life is now complete.

  11. jocey bri says:

    i can’t handle him, he’s adorable and this makes the song sound like a real song that actually has some meaningful lyrics. THANKS TO RALPH FOR SHOWING ME 🙂

  12. jexx says:

    anyone have this song and feel like sharing it with me? i had it a while ago but it seems to have disappeared from my itunes. it makes me sad…any help would be appreciated!

  13. thenicholasm says:

    I heard its on his charming myspace, myspace.com/listentonickmiller

  14. jexx says:

    you are my hero. 😀

  15. Simon says:

    If you send this cover to me, I will have sex with you. I swear. That’s a good thing.

  16. nm says:

    whats the email simon

  17. […] from ALL THINGS GO – nick miller – umbrella (link broken – hosted here – thanks nick!) […]

  18. […] back ladies and gents. That’s right, the man who brought you breathtaking covers of “Umbrella” and “Masterfade“, as well as originals such as “Chemicals and Cowboy […]

  19. […] “Umbrella” – Nick Miller This is how it was meant to be sung. Categories Select Category Art  (7) Collage  (1) Digital  (3) Drawing  (6) Essay  (1) Interests  (4) Music  (2) Other  (2) Photography  (3) Poetry  (1) Politics  (2) Travel  (1) Writing  (2) /* 0 ) { location.href = “http://casagrand.wordpress.com/?cat=”+dropdown.options[dropdown.selectedIndex].value; } } dropdown.onchange = onCatChange; /* ]]> */ Friends […]

