Relax and Take Notes – New Ratatat Remixes Vol. II

ratatatremixes.jpg

I love Ratatat, and it’s well documented. I love them a lot. And just when I thought I couldn’t love them more without seriously considering switching sides, I come across their second hip-hop remix album, and I love them even morer. With new takes on famous tracks like Biggie’s “Dead Wrong”, Kanye’s “Diamonds”, and Jay-Z’s “Allure”, as well as (even better) remixes of Memphis Bleek, T.I., Ludacris, Saigon, and Bun-B (to name a few), Ratatat’s Remixes Vol. II has jumped right to the top of my favorite albums of 2007 list, and is cemented as the party album of the century.

Ratatat show Kanye up on their redo of “Diamonds”. The new beat is so perfectly fitting, it’s arguable that this version would’ve done even better on the radio. The same can be said for pretty much any of the songs on this album, as Ratatat recreated each and every track so well that you would never have guessed that the rhymes didn’t originally flow across these beats.

Remember the 9 Beats EP that, along with their full-length, Classics, made #5 on my top albums of 2006 list? I told all my friends that I wished that all of those beats had accompanying verses, because it was a shame to let such unique and flawless beats go to waste. My prayers were answered, as many of the beats on this album are updated versions of the 9 beats, including my favorites (“One” and “Six”). I’d love to hear what the artists think about Ratatat’s remixes. I’d also like to hear what you guys think. I’ll be sure you let you all know when a release date (which has been delayed) is announced and where you can pick up this masterpiece.

Oh, and if you didn’t notice from the whole rest of the post: I love Ratatat.

MP3: Notorious B.I.G. – “Dead Wrong (Ratatat Remix)”
MP3: Kanye West – “Diamonds (Ratatat Remix)”
MP3: Memphis Bleek – “Alright (Ratatat Remix)”

Official Site // Buy Classics // More Ratatat

Love,
Zack

8 Responses to Relax and Take Notes – New Ratatat Remixes Vol. II

  1. rick says:

    blogger is acting up with me today. sorry for the above incomplete comment.

    oh i

  2. rick says:

    ugh. alright. third time’s the charm? oh i

  3. Laura says:

    there’s a good ratatat remix of shout out louds song. i’m sure you can find on hype.

  4. Philana says:

    I too have an insane love for Ratatat.

  5. Sean says:

    Hey where can you get the remixes? I just saw ratatat at coachella and they were more amazing than I would have imagined.

  6. Sean says:

    not sure if you can get my email from the reply, but it is sean.ess@gmail.com

    thanks

