New Music + Updates

dscn0053.JPG

Hey everyone. I’m aware I haven’t made a real post in about 3 weeks, and there are some reasons. First of all, my winter break has been incredibly busy and hectic, including a Mexico vacation. I’ve also been working diligently on formatting the top 40 albums of 2006 post (which should FINALLY be up by the end of the week). Also, I’m just putting the finishing touches on THREE new ATG Mixtapes, so look for those in the not-too-distant future.

The past few weeks have seen some leaked singles from some of my favorite artists, including Ted Leo, The Arcade Fire, Air, and Modest Mouse. If the rest of the albums sound like these singles, 2007 is shaping up to be an incredible year for my favorites. I must admit, however, that I was disappointed with the singles from The Arcade Fire. I know its blasphemous to say anything about these guys on the blogs, but I guess my expectations were so high that anything short of a masterpiece was a letdown. Anyways, here’s some new music that I’ve been listening to on repeat recently.

Modest Mouse – Dashboard
If this catchy single is any indicator of the band’s new style with new addition Johnny Marr of The Smiths, I’m salivating in anticipation of We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank. With Isaac Brock’s trademark wavering vocals and an upbeat vibe, “Dashboard” is a must-listen for Modest Mouse fanatics and newcomers alike.

Ted Leo & the Pharmacists – The Sons of Cain
Anyone who knows me knows that Ted could record himself using the bathroom and I’d consider it the best thing since The White Album, so believe that I’m excited with this new single, which sounds nothing like Ted using the restroom. Ted and the gang are going back to a more raw punk sound, straying somewhat from their most recent release, Shake the Sheets. The new effort, Living With the Living, is my most anticipated album of 2007 so far, and will certainly be near the top of my year end lists if it’s anything like any of his LPs.

The Apples in Stereo – Energy
I just recently picked up a copy of their newest album, New Magnetic Wonder, and was pleasantly surprised. This song, which is also the first single, reminds me of a more catchy Flaming Lips (is that possible?) with a simple chorus and repititious verses. This song is just proof that with a catchy hook (and I think I hear cowbell in the background), lyrics can take a back seat. On first listen, this album has definitely caught my attention and made me a fan.

Klaxons – Golden Skans (SebastiAn Version 1.2.0. Remix)
Derek hooked me up with this song on new years, dubbing it a “more exhilarating, more danceable version of JT’s ‘My Love'”, which I never thought possible, until I heard the song. This remix very much exemplifies Derek’s new obsession with in-your-face electronica, and while I don’t feel quite the same way about his new tastes, this song is an exception.

Look out for the massive top 40 post before week’s end.

-Zack

One Response to New Music + Updates

  1. Greg says:

    Here are my thoughts on the Ted Leo song:

    “Yes. Yes. Y. E. S.”

    Thank you for your time.

