New OC Mix 6

While the new episodes of the OC are absolutely awful, I can’t deny that I watched seasons 1-3 religiously with my high school friends. My closest friends (including Adrian) would get together at Derek (of GWFAS’s) house and would watch the new episodes while drinking Arbor Mist and other incredibly girly sparkling drinks. This does ruin any sort of indie cred I had, but, while the show may now be unbearable, there is one thing that the OC did right: Music.

With “OC Mixes” featuring artists such as Sufjan Stevens, Imogen Heap, and Eels, I have definitely enjoyed listening to all five so far. The newest OC Mix, OC Mix 6: Covering Our Tracks goes in a different direction. It is a mix made up entirely of covers. from Rogue Wave covering The Pixies to Lady Sovereign covering The Sex Pistols, this mix is quite intriguing and I’m excited to get my copy (the album drops 12/5). I have made available two tracks off the upcoming mix: a Rock Kills Kid cover of Spoon’s “I Turn My Camera On”, and a Lady Sovereign cover of The Sex Pistols’ “Pretty Vacant”. The Rock Kills Kid remake puts an entirely new, dark spin on one of my favorite Spoon tracks, and is definitely worth a listen. I haven’t listened to the Lady Sovreign cover enough to formulate an opinion, so I’ll leave it up to you.

Since I can’t seem to find mp3 versions of both, I can only post streams of both, in .mov format. Sorry for the inconvenience, but don’t let that stop you from listening to both.

Stream: Rock Kills Kid – I Turn My Camera On (Spoon) [stream or die]
Stream: Lady Sovereign – Pretty Vacant (The Sex Pistols)

-Zack

Visit the OC Mix official site // See the full press release here

4 Responses to New OC Mix 6

  1. Trent says:

    Now that Josh is manning the writing for the OC, season 4 has much, much better of a start than season 3, despite having to shake off the burden that Marissa’s death left the show. I’m actually surprised there are long-time watchers out there that consider it “absolutely awful”, especially considering that season 3 was THE WORST and lost the show it’s majority of viewers. Marrissa weighed down the show and the potential of the other characters; season four I imagine will change that. In summary, despite agreeing with most of what Zack says, I disagree here. But the music is, of course, always good.

  2. matt blalock says:

    I have been a fairly faithful OC watcher since the first episode. I agree with Trent that last season was the worst season, but I think season 4 is def. an improvement. Through all episodes, music has been the best part, and in a way might be what introduced me to good music back in high school. I have been so excited about the newest album, and am still waiting to hear it. These tracks are really good.

  3. […] I know I already posted a few streams of some tracks on the new OC mix, Covering Our Tracks, but I just recently came across the whole album, so I figured I’d share the highlights. […]

  4. James says:

    Don’t watch the OC, but I think I’ll have to pick this album up, thanks!

