The Dear Hunter – Act I: The Lake South, the River North


The Dear Hunter is the opus of Casey Cresenzo, former vocalist, guitarist, and creative force behind Boston electro-posthardcore outfit, The Receiving End of Sirens. Cresenzo impressed many with his work in TREOS; their combination of traditional instruments with carefully synchronized electronic segments and anthemic hooks brought the band much acclaim from critics as well as establishing a dedicated fan base. But now all that is past and frankly, without Cresenzo, the band will never be the same. Fortunately he has decided to keep pursuing his musical endeavors through the Dear Hunter. Act I: The Lake South, the River North is the most well-orchestrated music I’ve heard in a long time. Each song, save for the short ones, is comprised of so many different segments. Within each song Cresenzo brings an amalgam of instruments together, including traditional, electronic, and orchestral (at times it seems like an entire symphony is backing him up). Cresenzo deservingly earns himself the title of maestro with Act I; it takes an advanced, musical mind to even begin constructing a mental image of the epic songs found on this EP. It’s hard to fit the Dear Hunter into one genre, but I can tell you this: if you don’t like Cresenzo’s sound (which you honestly must be crazy not to) then you’ll at least respect the music immensely for its intricate arrangments. That’s something that can’t be said for most artists today.

The Dear Hunter – City Escape

The Dear Hunter – The Inquiry of Ms. Terri

The Dear Hunter – 1878

-Adrian

6 Responses to The Dear Hunter – Act I: The Lake South, the River North

  1. The Vandal says:

    I happened upon TREOS at a concert a couple years ago and was blown away by the energy and inquiry of their set. Casey was the man and I am really looking forward to this album. How do the rest of the songs compare to these ? I know you mentioned their arrangement and such, but what about quality?

  2. Adrian says:

    I focused a bit too much on arrangement, didn’t I? Although this music may not be as energetic as anything TREOS has ever written, it does a great job of engaging the listener and immersing them into the world of the Dear Hunter. As mentioned on the DH website, Act I is the beginning of a story. What the storyline is, I don’t know (I’ll have to look through the lyrics). But regardless, each song carries with it a certain feeling. This changes with pace, instrumental choice, and other aspects of the music. Although other artists have taken on expressing stories through their music, for some reason I feel as if Casey pulls it off much better. With “City Escape,” you’re living the first scene of the story, most likely the protagonist’s escape from the constraints of the city life, or I don’t know, something along those lines. The rest of the EP takes on a more light-hearted mood, meaning that this is the beginning of a new adventure for our hero, one full of excitement and discovery and what not. The point is that the quality of this music is so damn amazing because I don’t even need an explanation of the story to feel like I’m living it.

    That and the music just kicks ass standing alone.

    I wrote way too much, but that should’ve been in the post 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    so did you say TREOS broke up? or is this a side project? or not. i went to their site and it doesn’t look like they’re broken up..

  4. Adrian says:

    TREOS didn’t break up, Casey left. But really, he was the brains behind the whole operation. The reason their album kicked so much as was because of him.

    So the Dear Hunter is just Casey’s new band.

  5. Karwés says:

    Could you post some good TREOS-tracks? All I have is ‘Planning a Prison Break’ and I’m guessing that’s after this Casey-character left the band, no?

    Checking out these tracks now.

  6. Adrian says:

    No, Casey was there for “Planning a Prison Break” and the rest of the songs off Between the Heart and the Synapse. I’ll put songs up later in the day.

