The Dresden Dolls


So while some of our ATG members are having a lovely time at Belle & Sebastian, one of us has been cursing in his room for the last hour because someone has totally stolen his ipod. But fear not loyal and concerned readers, today has not been a total bust for me.

Before I had my ipod stolen I managed to get the new (apperantly it is coming out in April) Dresden Dolls CD, Yes, Virginia, onto it and give it a pretty thorough listen a few times. For those of you who don’t know, The Dresden Dolls are a two piece band from Boston who specialize in punk cabaret. Yeah whatever that means. Allow me to dumb it down. It means that Amanda Palmer, vocalist and pianist, lays down some incredibly moving and powerful piano parts, sings some of the best lyrics out there in one of the most beautiful/seductive voices I’ve ever heard. All the while Brian Viglione follows along with an incredible drumming style that mimics early jazz, but is in a category of its own.

So yeah that little description I just wrote pretty much describes Yes Virginia. It is an incredibly great, catchy, moving, hypnotic, and long album. There is seriously nothing to dislike about it unless you have a serious issue with female vocals (which would mean you are just the least bit close-minded) or just don’t like good music (which would make you an idiot). I would write more but it is lacrosse season, which means I am pretty much a shell of a human being with no energy for blogging. Anyway download the below tracks and be blown away.

The Dresden Dolls – Sex Change [this is my favorite]
The Dresden Dolls – My Alcoholic Friends
The Dresden Dolls – Dirty Business

P.S. Since I am apperantly once again in the possesion of a leaked/early album, I would be more than happy to share the rest of it with you free of charge and what not. Just send an instant message to RaHoustoun and it shall be yours, along with any other music you may want that I have.

P.P.S. I’ll be going to see Clap Your Hands Say Yeah! This Wednesday at the 9:30 Club. If you live in the area and are planning to attend we could meet up and talk about how much better our taste in music is compared to everyone else.

-Alex

6 Responses to The Dresden Dolls

  1. james henry says:

    Can’t make the link work for that first track. Perhaps you are taunting us evilly in the style of a punk caberetist?

  2. Alex says:

    Why yes you right. I was indeed taunting you and not just making a very simple mistake when it came to copying the link.

    Anyway, it should work now.

  3. Anonymous says:

    someone stealing your ipod! even in your case (a kind, gentle being) you should hunt that person down adn beat them.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Someone stole your iPod? Well, some artists called and said you stole their music.

  5. Alex says:

    Some artists actually make music for the love of doing it, not for the money and encourage musical sharing (or stealing as you call it).

    For the record I have bought 90% of all music I’ve downloaded illegaly to support the artist. That other 10% is made up of crappy musicians who do not deserve my, or your, money.

  6. Anonymous says:

    “Some artists actually make music for the love of doing it, not for the money and encourage musical sharing”

    I agree with you. But musicians still need people to buy their albums, right? Otherwise, why do you do it?

    Speaking of which, just a thought: you’re co-running an mp3 blog, so you must listen to a lot of music(you’re actually not bad at comparing music, and that takes a bit). If you buy 90% of all the music you download, like you pretend, you must be bloody rich. Therefore, no worries about buying a new iPod.

    Oh, and I wasn’t bashing on you for offering some songs (that’s what an mp3 blog is for, and why I came here in the first place). It’s the “I’ll give you the full albums and more if you just ask” that shocked me. Not all people are as ethic as you claim you are.

