Sleater-Kinney – The Woods

I was originally introduced to Sleater-Kinney through the rantings of one of my idols, a Mr. Mitch Clem. I instantly checked them out because:

1. I always try to mimic people I like in some way or form. Seriously that is why I own about half of my CD collection and a few of my shirts.

2. At the time I was trying to get into riot grrrl music for some reason or another. I dunno, but I had really liked Le Tigre, Bratmobile, and Bikini Kill so I figured I would be fine with Sleater-Kinney.

I went out and bought their new CD The Woods, hoping that I had discovered a new band that would totally rock me. Unfortunately this wasn’t really the case. Whenever I would sit down to listen to the CD I would either get distracted or pissed with the fact that every song seemed to have wailing in it to some degree. Eventually I gave up and just let the CD collect virtual dust as it sat in/on my ipod.

Some time had passed since I first gave The Woods a try, so last week I decided I would be brave and sit down and listen to the album all the way through no matter how much it hurt. Well I sat down, turned up my speakers, and braced my self for the worst, but something amazing happened. Somehow the CD I was listening was no longer the same CD I remembered. Instead it was something different, and really really good.

The Woods is a blend of powerful guitar riffs, melodic crooning, and whole lot of “kick you in the ass” yowling. Like I said in that last poorly constructed sentence, this CD is full of some moving guitar solos/part/thingies, and really lets Carrie Brownstein and Corin Tucker show off what skilled musicians they are. By the way, they are really really good. They can go from a heavy power chord verse to a some random scale solo in no time at all with utmost ease and grace. This is not to subtract from the work of Janet Weiss who provides each track with a powerful drum beat that sounds like she is trying to beat her drums to death. This drumming leaves me, and maybe you, with the odd desire to march around, dance, and break lots of things.

While some tracks do slow down, the CD keeps moving and never once do you really feel bored with a song or anxious for it to end. Seriously go out and buy this, get it in torrent form, or once again IM me and I’ll send it to you. I love talking to strangers about music (it actually happens a lot for some reason).

Sleater-Kinney – The Fox: The opening track on the LP is pretty much a combination of everything I’ve said is good on this CD. Badass drums, a heavy guitar part and some hardcore shouting. Download or miss out (I don’t like threats). (Zack’s note: threatening readers’ lives is so hot right now.)(Alex’s note: saying things are hot is sooo 5 minutes ago.)(Zacks note: Suck it)

Sleater-Kinney – Modern Girl: A break from all the rocking on the CD. I guess it is a love song, or something cute. Whatever, I like it. There is also a harmonica in it that doesn’t annoying the living hell out of me like most harmonicas do.

Sleater-Kinney – Entertain: The first offical “single” off The Woods. It’s made up of more of that yelling, guitar, drums, and awesomeness. There is a video for it on myspace somewhere.

 

-Alex

2 Responses to Sleater-Kinney – The Woods

  1. Anonymous says:

    its about time somebody started posting good music.

    power!

  2. Alex says:

    Well thank you.

    And if this is sarcastic, please don’t tell me. I like letting my ego grow.

