Mashup Madness!!!

Let me start off-topic by saying that I hope everyone is watching the Super Bowl today. Everyone also better be rooting for the Steelers and the Bus because Matt Hasselbeck and the Seahawks suck. (Note: I am bitter because they beat my Redskins in the divisional playoffs. Then again, at least the ‘Skins QB has a full, blooming, gorgeous mane of hair. Matt Hasselbeck doesn’t.) But I digress..

Who doesn’t like mashups? Honestly? I mean, hearing Marvin Gaye sing to Eminem’s Lose Yourself has to be at least worth laughing at. But every once in a while, a DJ realizes that two songs can actually blend well together and combines them, creating a love child that is properly known as a mashup. I have been searching the web for months trying to organize a list of hundreds of mashups. Most of them are complete garbage but I have searched through all of them for you and pulled out the gems. I share them with you today. Note: I will be organizing the songs in two categories: actually good mashups and ridiculously absurd mashups. Enjoy.

Quality Mashups:

Golden Peace Frog – Jurassic 5 vs. The Doors

Can I Kick it Like That? – A Tribe Called Quest vs. Pharrell [download or die]

Somebody Stole Your Beat – Divide & Kreate (Bloc Party vs. The Killers)

Decepta-Freak-On – Missy Elliott vs. Le Tigre

Yoshimi Battles Snoop Dogg – The Flaming Lips vs. Snoop Dogg

Ridiculous Mashups:

Kanye Mahna – Kanye West vs. Mahna Mahna (from the Muppets) [download or die]

Beethoven’s Fifth Gold Digger – Kanye West vs. Beethoven’s Fifth

Let’s Dance With Me – David Bowie vs. Hot Hot Heat

Paranoid Teeth Attack – The Faint vs. Obie Trice

If you enjoyed any of these songs and would like to hear the other couple hundred I’ve got, just leave a comment or send me an e-mail (allthingsgoblog@gmail.com). Also, if you are the creator of one of these mashups and don’t want them up here, let me know and I will take them down.

-Zack

8 Responses to Mashup Madness!!!

  1. Alex says:

    I feel that you could mash up any song, or sound for that matter, to Deceptacon and it would sound awesome

  2. Kyle Pfister says:

    Great list… I especially like the Snoop Dog track. My favourite mashups come from DJ Earworm. The Night of Miss Kittin’s Messy Dream and We Need a War top the list. GREAT BLOG!

  3. kim says:

    i really want to listen to these but the links won’t work, please fix them

  4. max says:

    have you heard juicy/new york new york. -B.I.G & Frank. fuckin awesome

  5. Anonymous says:

    you should be letting people know who the bootleggers are that created each track!

  6. Anonymous says:

    you should let people know who the bootleggers are that created each track!

  7. Anonymous says:

    MORE.. MORE!!!!

  8. Anonymous says:

    What a great site
    » »

